Besides celebrating our 250th podcast of myboytheriotgirl, tonight’s episode also marks the beginning of the ninth season of the show on 93.3FM.  That’s right, almost exactly eight years ago I first went on the air here at CFMU, pulling from the new releases shelf with abandon and spinning a mix of independent “love songs and fight music,” along with old favourites and material from Canadians and up-and-coming female artists.

Mike joined me a year or so later, and we were the first show at CFMU to begin podcasting our shows, mostly just to test out the technology. After graduation, when we moved from daytime to the overnight spot we still fill, our podcasts became the easiest way for listeners to hear the show, and our recent relaunch of has only helped listeners connect. Over the past few years we’ve jacked up our CanCon, added theme shows, and have fundraised a few hundred dollars for CFMU, despite being on between 2 and 7am.

So instead of reciting the many, many artists featured in tonight’s show (except for maybe the Rural Alberta Advantage, who will be playing Hamilton Place with Sam Roberts next week), I’d just like to say thanks for listening, and that it’s been fun filling the 93.3’s late-night airwaves with music you might not hear anywhere else on the radio dial.

  1. The Mountain Goats – Oceanographer’s Choice (Tallahassee)
  2. Caribou – Melody Day (Andorra)
  3. No Joy – Maggie Says I Love You (Ghost Blonde)
  4. LCD Soundsystem – North American Scum (Sound Of Silver)
  5. Depeche Mode – Never Let Me Down Again (The Singles 86 – 98 )
  6. jj – ecstasy (jj n° 2)
  7. Jenn Grant – Baby’s Been Away (Honeymoon Punch)
  8. The Rural Alberta Advantage – Rush Apart (Hometowns)
  9. The Pack A.D. – 8 (Unpersons)
  10. Japandroids – Young Hearts Spark Fire (Post-Nothing)
  11. Luke Doucet and the White Falcon – The Ballad of Ian Curtis (Steel City Trawler)
  12. Joy Division – She’s Lost Control (Permanent)
  13. Lykke Li – Complaint Department (Youth Novel)
  14. A.C. Newman – Come Crash (The Slow Wonder)
  15. Camera Obscura – Lloyd, I’m Ready To Be Heartbroken (Let’s Get Out Of This Country)
  16. Miracle Fortress – Next Train (Five Roses)
  17. Modest Mouse – 3rd Planet (The Moon And Antarctica)
  18. The XX – Crystalised (XX)
  19. Sarah Slean – Climbing Up The Walls (Universe)
  20. PJ Harvey – This Mess We’re In (Stories from the city, stories from the sea)
  21. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – Contender (The Pains of Being Pure at Heart)
  22. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Way Out (Show Your Bones)
  23. Parlour Steps – World As Large (Ambiguoso)
  24. The Delgados – Coming in from the Cold (Hate)
  25. Sarah Harmer – Basement Apt. (You Were Here)
  26. Molly Rankin – Way Home (SHE EP)
  27. The Fiery Furnaces – don’t dance her down (Gallowsbird’s Bark)
  28. Cat Power – Metal Heart (Moon Pix)
  29. Sleater-Kinney – One More Hour (Dig Me Out)
  30. Broadcast – Michael a Grammar (Tender Buttons)
  31. Portishead – All Mine (Portishead)
  32. Jill Barber – Chances (Chances)
  33. Emiliana Torrini – Nothing Brings Me Down (Fisherman’s Woman)
  34. Jose Gonzalez – Heartbeats (Veneer)
  35. Neko Case – Hold On, Hold On (Fox Confessor Brings The Flood)
  36. Sufjan Stevens – Concerning the UFO Sighting (Illinois)
  37. Beth Orton – She Cries Your Name (Trailer Park)
  38. Hefner – Good Fruit (We Love The City [Limited Edition])
  39. Le Tigre – Mediocrity Rules-6 (From the Desk of…Mr. Lady)
  40. Los Campesinos! – Don’t Tell Me to Do the Math(s) (Sticking Fingers Into Sockets – EP)
  41. Hooded Fang – Laughing (Hooded Fang – Album)
  42. Belle & Sebastian – Waiting For The Moon To Rise (Fold Your Hands Child, You Walk Like A Peasant)
  43. Aphex Twin – Nannou (Windowlicker)
  44. Joanna Newsom – Emily (Ys)
This entry was posted in 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment